The purpose of this blog is to share what I learned in writing still another of a growing set of books on science and the LDS religion—Religion and Science in the Last Days. One of the reasons I persisted in writing in this crowded area is that I wanted to emphasize the religion side of the discussion. In my own study of the issues I saw that The Book of Mormon and the other scriptures of the restoration answer a lot of them, but most of the books that discuss LDS religion and science pay little attention to the scriptures. I am a scientist myself, but it seems to me that attempts to get at the truth in this area by emphasizing the science side fall short because science operates under an assumption that there is nothing to be explained beyond the physical universe.

So, in this blog I want to share my thoughts on LDS religion and science with a voice that sounds as much like a stake clerk as a nuclear physicist (I once was both). I want to quote Nephi and Moroni on miracles, Jacob on the proper place of learning, and Alma on how we know things. I will also deal with critical issues where secular claims differ from views of religious people such as the recent claim that science now has a “theory of everything”, and the old and ongoing claims that the scriptures are manmade and not inspired of God and that science disproves the Bible and The Book of Mormon.

In addition to looking at the issues where religion and science appear to disagree, it is important to look at areas where they converge. One of those is that our modern global civilization is far more fragile than we would like to believe and it can collapse in a vastly destructive way bringing about the end of the world as prophesied in the scriptures.

